Tags

, , ,

Santa is getting a little help from Nickiolay Lamm in my house this year. Lamm is the guy that created the realistic barbie that went viral in the summer of 2013.

Lamm used 3d printing and photoshop to make the realistically portioned fashion doll.

In an interview with Huffington Post Lamm points out,

“If we criticize skinny models, we should at least be open to the possibility that Barbie may negatively influence young girls as well,”

The moment I saw it I started badgering my husband, asking why someone didn’t just make a doll like this. Poor guy, he happens to take the brunt of a lot of my cultural indignation.

Apparently I wasn’t the only one willing to open my wallet for the chance to boot Barbie out of our house. After request from wanna-be-customers Lamm used tilt (previously Crowdtilt) and raised the funds to make the doll a reality within a single day.

When I was a tween my Barbie always belted out Jann Arden’s Insensitive after her date with Ken. Sure, a little dramatic, but at 13 I thought all romances needed to be fit for an episode of Beverley Hills 90210.

I don’t exactly think Barbie is the devil in stilettos. A few have made their way into my house (thanks grandparents..). They’ve been granted sanctuary for the time being.

Lammily has articulated joints, a toned down outfit and minimal makeup.

In the kitchen I wage the war to help my daughters develop a healthy relationship with food. Body image issues are another battle in that fight. I’m glad that as they get older I’ll have Lammily for reinforcements.

The price is reasonable at $25 and they are working on expanding her wardrobe. There is still time to order before Christmas, the first ones are expected to ship in November.

What do you think? Would you welcome Lammily into your house? Do you think your kids would let her join the dream house?

