Tags

, , , ,

SONY DSCI use to have dreams (disillusions) of whipping up a fresh batch of pancakes for breakfast early in the morning while my children played in the next room (ha!). Before becoming a stay at home mom I honestly thought this how my days would go.

The reality is that after dragging myself out of bed (usually because one of my lovely early risers is up) I am incapable of functioning until I have finished at least one cup of tea. Not going to lie, sometimes I nurse that one cup for an ungodly amount of time.

The odds of me doing more than hauling out milk and cereal or throwing a few pieces of bread in the toaster before 12 are pretty much null.SONY DSC

Not that my 3 year old would ever complain. The most frequent answer to ‘what would you like?’ is ‘Toast! With butter and honey!’. My 1 year old hasn’t really gotten the speaking thing going yet, so her opinion is mostly void atm.

One of the key tactics to helping kids grow healthy eating habits is continuing to offer variety, especially during the picky years. I’ve eyed up the eggos in the grocery store pretty hard. Counts as variety right?

Turns out throwing a homemade pancake from the freezer into the toaster is just as easy as an eggo. When I do get around to making a batch of pancakes (kids are just as happy to have them for lunch fyi) I always make a double batch. Most of them get put into a freezer bag and tucked away.SONY DSC

Opting to cook your own food instead of living off of the processed crap often means losing out on the convenience our modern food system prides itself on. Basically, working with local, organic, real food can be a pain in the ass. It’s the simple tricks like this that make it work for us, instead of against us.

I use spelt in these pancakes, because that’s what is available locally. Substitute for whatever whole grain you like/can get.  Whatever you do please serve these with real maple syrup. It’s the true nectar of the gods, that imitation crap is just an insult to maple trees everywhere.

Another trick I picked up from the freezer aisle? Cut the pancakes into strips and fill a little bowl with maple syrup for your kids to dip into. It helps to minimize the inevitable mess.SONY DSC

Spelt Pancakes

  • 1 Cup AP Flour
  • 1/2 Cup Spelt Flour (or other whole grain)
  • 1/2 teaspooon Salt
  • 2 Tablespoons Sugar
  • 3 teaspoons Baking Powder
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Cup Milk
  • 3 Tablespoons Butter, Soft
  • 1/4 teaspoon Vanilla

Preheat a pan on medium heat.

Stir flours, salt, sugar, baking powder.

Whisk eggs, whisk in butter, whisk in milk and vanilla.

Slowly mix wet ingredients into the dry. Don’t over mix, a few lumps are fine. Let sit for a few minutes.

Pour into the preheated pan by about 1/3- 1/2 of a cup (depending on how big you want your pancakes).

Flip once bubbles have filled,  formed and popped on the top. Cook for a minute or two on the other side, till browned.

 

 

