Tags

, , ,

SONY DSC

I found this recipe in my copy of the Fannie Farmer Cookbook earlier this year. It seemed too simple to be worth it, but the moment I bit into one hot from the oven I was in love. I had found THE ONE biscuit recipe. The recipe I can permanent file away and have on hand for all my biscuits needs.

Life has gotten busy the past few weeks. A trip to visit my mother and sister, sans kids (the first time in 6 years!), scrambling to get ready for part-time studies at the university I finally got my acceptance letter from (yeah, I’m proud!), and endless mountains of clothes.

SONY DSC

My daughters have more clothes than my husband and I combined. I’m fortunate enough to be given the clothes my niece has grown out of, but that means I have 5 different sizes of clothes for my girls in the house- did I mention I live in 600 square feet? Dedicating time to keep them properly sorted and organized is essential.

With all the lovely herbs in my CSA from Salt of the Earth Farm I just had to try adding some to the biscuit recipe. It is a great way to highlight their amazing flavors. These biscuits are definitely best fresh out of the oven, and are so simple to throw together it’s easy enough to make up a batch right before you eat.

SONY DSC

 

Cream Biscuits (from Fannie Farmer Cookbook)

  • 2 Cups Flour
  • 1 Teaspoon Salt
  • 1 Tablespoon Baking Powder
  • 2 Teaspoons Sugar
  • 1-1/2 Cups Heavy Cream
  • 6 Tablespoons Butter, Melted

Preheat the oven to 425f. Combine flour, salt, baking powder, and sugar in a bowl. Stir together.

Slowly add 1 cup of the cream to the mixture, stirring constantly.

Gather the dough together; when it holds together and feels tender, it is ready to knead. Add the additional cream if needed.

Place the dough on a lightly floured board and knead the dough for 1 minute. Pat the dough into a square about 1/2 inch thick. Cut into twelve squares and dip each into the melted butter.

Place the biscuits 2 inches apart on the baking sheet. Bake for about 15 minutes, or until they are lightly browned.

Herb Cream Biscuits:

  • 3 Tablespoons of Chopped Fresh Herbs (I used scallions, dill and parsley)
  • 1 Teaspoon Fresh Ground Pepper

Add these to the flour mixture.