Tags

, ,

I’m a reader. Books have been both life changing and life saving for me.

Reading is the only way I’ve managed to stay sane during these early years of mommy-hood. Being able to lay down in bed and escape into the written word while my little ones literally crawl over top of me is the only way I make it through some days.

Back in my pre-mommy days I discovered a book called The Omnivore’s Dilemia. I had previously taken Museum Studies and I found the history of food a particularly captivating subject.

I wasn’t prepared to have the author, Michael Pollan, spin my perspective towards the future of food. This book, and the others it pointed me towards, propelled me into the culinary world.

SONY DSC

I couldn’t knowingly be part of the modern food system they were describing and opted for the only solution I could find; becoming a vegan.

Which highlighted my drastic lack of skills in the kitchen.

I knew I didn’t want to be eating endless processed foods, even if they were free of animal products. So I enrolled in culinary school, determined to get something out of it even if I would be horribly out of my element.

In culinary school I was introduced to the local food movement here in Kingston. I began to learn about things like organic, pasture raised, and free range.

SONY DSC

Six years later and I’m still finding my way. I am lucky enough to live in a city where I can place an order on-line for local organic meat, I have fresh dairy delivered right to my porch, and there are two farmer’s markets within walking distance.

SONY DSC

I am also the main cook for a family with a limited budget. Amazing chefs in our city are doing amazing things with local food, but it is not a feasible way for someone in my position to engage with this type of food system.

With two small children I am as limited for time (and energy) as anything else.

There are challenges to filling my table with local, real, home-cooked meals.
SONY DSC

I’ve found the only way to keep on top of the challenges to is to keep expanding my abilities.

I have two years in culinary school and twice as many years working in restaurants. It still doesn’t make up for a childhood of eating from boxes. I have many new tricks to learn, new weapons to add to my arsenal.

Recently I read Cooked by Michael Pollan while my daughters jumped and laughed on the bed beside me. He focuses on four main types of cooking; bbq, braising, baking and fermenting.

His book reinvigorated me to try out some things I wasn’t comfortable with.

I attempted to slow BBQ some chicken- it was a bust. I need to invest in some better equipment.

I took on braising a shoulder of lamb yesterday and it was everything I hoped it would be. An inexpensive piece of meat transformed into a succulent dish bursting with flavour.
SONY DSCHis instructions for braising are easily adaptable to any type of meat. I opted to throw in some Moroccan type spices (cumin, coriander, thyme, ginger, cinnamon) and towards the last hour added some whole baby carrots.

With a side of asparagus inspired by Joel at Well Preserved and some acini de peppi pasta to soak in the juices it was a great meal for a rainy day.

Next I’m hoping to have a go at starting my own sour dough culture using some stone-ground red fife wheat I just got in with my dairy order from Limestone Organic Creamery. Once again I’m indebted to a book for pushing me a little further along my journey.

 

