Tags

, ,

I am currently typing this one handed while a squirming 25 lb 8 month old ‘sits’ on my lap and occupies my other hand. The only reason I can even fathom trying to write this post is because my 3 year old is napping (thank every god that ever existed).

My day today reminds me of this.

 

Getting together with friends is hard when you have little tyrants dictating most of your day. With kids underfoot, cooking local, from scratch meals can be a lesson in insanity.

 

SONY DSC

Wendy’s Mobile Market has mini sweet peppers from SUNTEC GREENHOUSES available right now.

Roasted pepper puree is also a great way to make full use of peppers when they come into season later in the summer (they are also much cheaper then).

SONY DSC

It’s simple, multi-purpose recipes like this one that makes it possible to even think about cooking dinner most nights.

You can use it as a base for a pasta sauce or soup. Mix it with some sour cream or greek yogurt and it’s a great dip for crackers or veggies. Either stir in some mayo, or use as is, for a spread for panini (did you know thats actually plural, panino is singular?.. huh learn something new everyday eh?) and sandwiches.

This batch is destined as a spread for a sandwich bar I am doing for Ellie’s 3rd birthday this weekend. Yup I’m going to make my guests put together their own sandwiches, I’m just that lazy. Refer to video above.

SONY DSC

 

Roasted Pepper Puree

  • Yellow/Red/Orange Bell Peppers
  • Olive Oil
  • Garlic
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Balsamic Vinegar

Turn your oven to broil.

Coat peppers with olive oil and place on a baking sheet

Put peppers in the oven, as they start to blacken and blister turn them a few times.

Take out and put into a bowl and cover with plastic wrap. Let cool.

Once cool peel off the skin (it will slide right off), and remove the stem and seeds.

Mince garlic.

Place garlic and peppers in a food processor. Puree. Add a splash of Balsamic Vinegar (I used Cranberry Pear White Balsamic Vinegar from Kingston Olive Oil Company.). Salt and pepper to taste.

 

