Tags

, , , , , , ,

I love local food.

I love going to sit in a fancy restaurant and being served a three course dinner prepared by a top chef. I love the time and attention they give to each ingredient, bringing out the subtle flavours of local ingredients.

With two little ones this isn’t very likely to happen. Thats an optimistic statement.

I also love cooking with simple, local ingredients at home to make practical, affordable dinners I can get on the table quickly.

Local food has as much potential in the home kitchen as it does in a commercial one.

ImageThere are some convenient providers of value added local foods here in Kingston. Pig and Olive makes amazing sausages. I got some chorizo in with my last order from Wendy’s Mobile Market and Penne and Sausage was a great way to use them.

Usually I use a sweeter sausage in this, but its a versatile dish that can also work with the heat of the chorizo.

Start to finish this only takes about a half hour or so. Of course I had to put down the knife/pan/spoon a few times to help in a couple of dress changes and to take part in a kitchen dance party. My eldest also made sure to steal her usual share of peppers once I had them sliced up.

Image

Feel free to use what you have on hand. Any colour pepper will do. I do prefer the sweeter orange, yellow and red over the green ones myself. Red onions add a nice colour, but white ones work too. I used a mix this time, only because I ran out of red ones.

Image

You can use plum tomatoes, crushed tomatoes, or tomato puree. I still have a few mason jars filled with tomato puree from local tomatoes from the fall so I used one of those.

Image

You can use dry basil or fresh. I used frozen basil that I had chopped up and thrown into the freezer. I like to do that with herbs in the summer and then have them on hand when I need them.

Image

Penne and Sausage

  • 4 Sausages (Chorizo/Sweet Italian/etc)
  • 3 Cloves Crushed Garlic
  • 2 Onions (Red or White)
  • 2 Bell Peppers (Red or Orange or Yellow)
  • 1 Liter of Tomatoes (Plum or Crushed or Tomato Puree)
  • 1 1/2 Cupof Stock (Chicken or Beef)
  • Basil
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Slice onions and peppers.

Brown sausage in a pan on medium-high heat. Let cool, slice. Do not wash pan!

Use a second pan, heat up a glug of olive oil on medium heat. Saute onions, peppers, and garlic for a couple of minutes.

Heat up the pan the sausages were cooked in. Add your stock, heat up the liquid while scrapping all the tasty bits off the bottom of the pan. Add tomatoes and basil. Simmer to reduce to a good consistency, usually about 5-10 minutes.

Throw the sauce in with the pepper/onion mix. Add the sliced up sausage. Season to your taste with salt and pepper.

Cook up some pasta and add it all together. Serve with fresh parmesan.

